Goodwill, Trust & Loyalty

So today, I’m refreshed and ready to move forward.. As everyday, I don’t know where to begin. Last night, I went to bed thinking about yesterday’s Google Engage Hangout with Seth Godin. So, let’s start by adding my notes here..
Desire for gain vs. Prevention of loss.
How do you get your clients to change their world view?
1. They need to know what you do..goodwill
2. They need to trust you..trust
3. Human beings like doing what other human beings are doing. (clapping example) loyalty

  • People in our tribe..loyalty
  • Athletes, pay $10,000 to go to a tri-athlon in Hawaii..loyalty
  • You are one of the people who bought the iPhone5?..loyalty

4. Turn a stranger into a friend, a friend into a customer..
5. Find folks who share the same world view and connect them. goodwill

How generous can you be?  Show everything, every shortcut, talk about everything you’ve learned..BE THE TRUSTED ONE, THE LISTENED TO ONE. goodwill, trust, grow your fan-base with loyalty
6. Keep track of customer stories..(aggregate) loyalty.

Once I thought about it, I realized everyday there’s something new in my inbox to ‘share.’ So, even if it’s not interesting to everyone, I think we can test the waters (depending on how much I trust the source) and forward on my findings.. Not that I’m building a review site mind you! Just a recommendation of something I’ve found good, something that made me happy!

I’m not interested in spamming people with my own spam..

..but most times we come across some great stuff unexpectedly!
For example.
The Corvette Museum where I get my newsletter on all new things going on at the National Corvette Museum in Bowlingreen, KY -Thanks Katie! Referred me to a great deal. Basically, this Saturday you and a guest can receive FREE ADMISSION to the National Corvette Museum as part of the annual Smithsonian Museum Day. To participate, simply visit their website here and signup for a free ticket. One ticket is allowed per household, and the ticket is good for two people.

Which made me realize, how did I miss an email on the the National MuseumDay from the Smithsonian? By the way, you can get your 2 free tickets here

So I hurriedly went through my emails and sure enough 9/25 I recieved an e-mail about MuseumDay on September 29th, tomorrow! What the hell? I’ve never heard of it, but it sounds great to me, free tickets to a local museum.

Recently, I’ve been trying to build my product and sometimes you can’t see the “Forest for the Trees.” I’m now refreshed and ready to move forward. It’s now the end of September and we’ve got a lot of work to do. I have several irons in the fire as it relates to proActive Media’s website, the product website and the app whats4.me. I’ve spent a year trying to get out of my own head, so that I can at least speak intelligently on the matter.

In my self-discovery, I’ve realized, I don’t have to have everything together to begin talking about what it is we’re trying to accomplish.

I don’t have to come up with a ‘shocking’ revelation or deliver a story derived from desperation. I do need to start communicating how I can begin delivering on a promise to myself. Get out of my own head and deliver.
So here you go.. this may be obvious to some, maybe not so much to others, it really depends on where you are in the development of your own self-discovery. What makes you happy? I like local deals (value)
I like to be able to do something on a whim or with the advice of like-minded friends and family.(social)

I like to share the things I find. If I can’t do it myself, I hope that someone else will be able to take advantage of my good fortune through self-discovery.

I’ve come up with a lot of taglines and lingo along the way.. This appears to be a pretty good one.

“Sharing good fortunes you find along the way to self-discovery.”

You will find along the way, many great things that you may or may not be able to take advantage of.. sharing your discoveries along the way, can help build loyalty, your audience, your fans, your brand. I think Seth has it figured out and I’m just along for the ride. I don’t want to be a person who just regurgitates the findings of others on the web, so my blog will try to come up with a valuable item I’ve found along the way to my own self-discovery. You can join in the conversation by adding to my blog, replying below and/or twitter to @proAM1 & @holman_jc your discoveries.

I hope our aggregated list of upcoming awesome events can be found by others looking for, well themselves!

able along begin come corvette don’t everything find forward free get good great here i’ve like loyalty may me museum my need not own people self-discovery things ticket trying up website

Leave a Reply

